String Quartet No. 1

  • I. Adagio espressivo (4.5 minutes)

  • II. Moderato con moto (2 minutes)

  • III. Presto (3.5 minutes)

Total Duration: 10 minutes

(2) vln, vla, vc

The first movement is a loosely constructed sonata-allegro form that is constructed through a combination of gestures and motives. The second movement is fierce with energy and utilizes the initial grace note motive as the means for its construction throughout. The third and final movement is more playful and follows a symmetrical arch form ABCBA while the meter itself is a constant asymetrical pulse.