PDF File score sample-1.png

Infernus Sequebatur Eum...

  • I. Coronam Vitae

  • II. Septem Spiritus Dei

  • III. Quator Equites in Apocalypsi

  • IV. Clangoris est et Tubarum

  • V. Nomina Blasphemiae

  • VI. Quia Digni Sunt

  • VII. Contemplatio

Duration: 10 minutes

(2) s, hn, (1) perc, e gtr, hp, (2) vla, (2) vc

My goal for this piece was to create a colorful and rich sound world with a unique soundscape, saturated in harmony and timbre. The text I chose comes directly from the Book of Revelations and pushes the piece forward with its narrative. This piece is not a statement on religious beliefs, nor meant as a representation of my own beliefs, however, a story I wanted to tell. This story, filled with imagery, symbolism, characters, etc., provides the perfect backdrop for the music to thrive. Due to the nature of the story, I chose to keep the text in its original Latin form, creating a greater sense of ambiguity and mystery. The unorthodox instrumentation was chosen based on the uniqueness of each of the instruments and how they benefited my musical palette. Though this piece is seven movements long, it is a continuous work where each movement flows directly into the next. You will hear a distinct character change in the music as each movement contains its own personality. This book from the Bible has stirred the most controversy and created countless debates among Theologians as to its meaning. Due to the disputable nature of the text, I felt it was the perfect story to tell through music.


Desiderabunt mori, et fugiet mors ab eis, Esto fidelis usque ad mortem, et dabo tibi coronam vitæ. Habentem cornua septem, et oculos septem: qui sunt septem spiritus Dei, missi in omnem terram. Et ecce equus pallidus: et qui sedebat super eum, nomen illi Mors, et infernus sequebatur eum. Et sol factus est niger…et luna tota facta est sicut sanguisQuoniam venit dies magnus iræ ipsorum: et quis poterit stare? Et primus Angelus tuba cecinit, et facta est grando, et ignis, mista in sanguine… terræ combusta. Et facta est tertia pars maris sanguis. Et diei non luceret pars tertia. Stellam de cælo cecidisse in terram. Et desiderabunt mori. Et vidi de mari bestiam ascendentem computet numerum bestiæ. Numerus enim hominis est. Quia sanguinem Sanctorum, et Prophetarum effuderunt, et sanguinem eis dedisti bibere: digni enim sunt. Et iudicatum est de singulis secundum opera ipsorum. Desiderabunt mori!


They will desire to die, and death will flee from them. Be faithful even unto death, and I will give to you the crown of life. Having seven horns and seven eyes, which are the seven spirits of God, sent forth to all the earth. And behold, a pale horse. And he who was sitting upon it, his name was Death, and Hell was following him. And the sun became black, and the entire moon became like blood. For the great day of their wrath has arrived. And who will be able to stand? And the first Angel sounded the trumpet. And there came hail and fire, mixed with blood…the earth was burned. And a third part of the sea became like blood. And a third part of the day did not shine. The star that had fallen from heaven And they will desire to die. And I saw a beast ascending from the sea. Let him determine the number of the beast. For it is the number of a man. For they have shed the blood of the Saints and the Prophets, and so you have given them blood to drink. For they deserve this. And they were judged, each one according to his works. They will desire to die!